Rehearsal2-top-of-menu-266x266

Rehearsal 2: The Backstage review

Hey there!

I didn’t expect this.

One day, I woke up to a review of my app, Rehearsal, in the magazine actors reach for to get up-to-the-minute news and advice on their acting careers.

They had never reviewed Rehearsal, even though I’d mentioned it to them when I wrote their VO column for years.

Until now.

And what they said about my app caught me completely off-guard.

Most of the time, reviews of my app are cursory, superficial, and usually complain that it costs $19.99. I wonder sometimes if the reviewer even is an actor.

In this review, nothing was usual.

Matthew Murray, who I haven’t met (yet), started with this little comment:

“…We’ve covered apps to help you with this before, but none to date has been quite as big or feature-packed as Rehearsal 2

Um, OK…and then he went on:

“…Rehearsal 2 also contains tools to help you find your character…

And continued, talking about Rehearsal 2’s price:

“… given the varied and useful tools it provides to assist with what can be a dreary, chore-like task, for many performers that steep price should be seen as a worthy investment…

I was a bit dumbstruck. Someone, in the business, actually took the time to put the app through ALL of its paces, and discovered all that Rehearsal has to offer.

Then, he shared it with other actors in Backstage.

I am eternally grateful.

(If you would, go read the review, and add some comments at the bottom – here’s the link: http://www.backstage.com/advice-for-actors/tech/learn-your-lines-and-create-your-character-rehearsal-2/)

IF you want to grab a copy of Rehearsal, you can here.

Hope this helps.

David

10 Responses to 6 Steps to a Perfect VO Demo

  1. Kelli August 18, 2011 at 2:58 am #

    I feel really good about my demo. It is a quick and fun process, even for someone like me who gets very self concious. :)

  2. David Britz September 5, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    The demos are great. Superb quality. Why go anywhere else?

  3. David Britz October 20, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    Can’t wait to record my Narration VO Demo!! :))

  4. Mike Brang December 31, 2013 at 9:44 am #

    Having a well-produced demo is one of the most important things in the VO business. I had a number of demos made from other producers in the past and they all had one thing in common — that manufactured, cookie cutter sound!
    What sets David apart from the rest, besides his affordable price and tremendously fast turn around time, is that all of the clips you record with him sound unique. Each spot sounds like an actual commercial you recorded for a job.
    My agent loved the quality and even asked who produced it to refer his other talent there!

    Thanks again, David for producing such a great, high quality demo for me. You made the process relaxing and enjoyable. I urge anyone reading this unsolicited reply to listen to David’s student demos to hear the difference for yourself. Anyone would be lucky to work with him

  5. Kristy Liles February 9, 2017 at 7:04 pm #

    I can not thank you enough. I worked so hard on 15 page IVR project, one day I cryed, look for answers, pull my hear (not really) but I was about until another VO send me this great tool. Thanks!

  6. Frank June 11, 2017 at 9:51 pm #

    David

    When v123 indicates the audition is for a student/ nonprofit are we to assume it is for $0. If so, why does the audition ask for an amount to be entered?

  7. shirley jordan June 12, 2017 at 5:58 pm #

    David,
    I did get this scam through Voice 123. In our discourse, they offered me the gig and they gave me the name of a legit local place to record and the same runaround with the money. I didn’t send anything, but instead, I called the studio to make sure the booking was for the day we set up, and lo and behold, the people there had no idea what I was talking about. I then tried to call back my “contact person” who was setting this up and there was a fax machine beep on the other end. I immediately contacted Voice 123 and told them what had happened. You know what they say…if it sounds togaed to be true, it probably is. Thanks for the reminder!
    Shirley

  8. shirley jordan June 12, 2017 at 5:59 pm #

    …too good…not togaed.
    The one time spell check didn’t work!

  9. Bernard Prame July 1, 2017 at 9:44 pm #

    extremely helpful demo. Thank you!

Leave a Reply